PFL PLAYOFFS CONTINUE ON ESPN SATURDAY AUGUST 13 AT 2 P.M. ET

The Professional Fighters League (PFL), the fastest growing and most innovative sports league in the world, today announced the finalized 13-fight card for the second Playoff event of 2022, to be held at Cardiff’s Motorpoint Arena on Saturday August 13. The PFL Playoffs will air on ESPN and ESPN+ beginning at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT. The action continues with three additional PFL European Qualifier fights at 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT on ESPN+. All PFL action can be seen on ESPN+ starting at 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT.

The second 2022 PFL Playoff event will be headlined by MMA icon Rory MacDonald who earned the top seed in the Welterweight division on the strength of a first-round finish over Brett Cooper in the first half of the PFL Regular Season. MacDonald will look to earn a spot in the 2022 PFL World Championship when he takes on Dilano Taylor. Taylor went 1-1 in the Regular Season including an upset win over veteran Zoao Zeferino.

After an amazing showing the in the 2021 PFL Championship, Ante Delija returned with his sights set on winning his first PFL title. The Croatian brawler will have to solve “The Problema” Renan Ferreira if he hopes to get another crack at PFL gold. Ferreira is a finishing machine who has tallied the two fasted stoppages in PFL Heavyweight history. Ferreira will look to earn his first PFL Championship berth against Delija.

Tawanchai PK.Saenchai Dethrones Petchmorakot Petchyindee

Matheus Scheffel made his PFL debut during the 2022 season and it was a rocky start for the heavyweight slugger. He wound up on the losing end in his debut and entered the SmartCage an underdog to Bruno Cappelozza. Scheffel ignored the oddsmakers and put on the performance of his life. He battered Cappelozza early and weathered a furious comeback before sealing the biggest win of his career by unanimous decision. He will square off with Juan Adams who made the most of his single Regular Season bout, earning 5 points with a second round TKO over Sam Kei. They will fight for a shot at PFL gold and the $1 million that comes along with it.

The last semifinal bout will feature a pair of surprise competitors in PFL veteran Sadibou Sy and 2022 Challenger Series competitor Carlos Leal. Sy entered his fourth league campaign with little fanfare, but the Swede banked a pair of wins, including a close decision over heavily favored Rory MacDonald, to cement his place in the postseason. Leal was not a part of the season until Umalatov was forced out of his first-round match, thus giving the Brazilian slugger his chance. Leal took the fight to two-time PFL champion Ray Cooper III and authoring one of the biggest upsets in PFL history. Leal will look to keep the Cinderella story going against Sy as he tries to become the first Challenger Series competitor to win a PFL World Title.