PFL 2024 Global Season Resumes with Fierce Competition

The Professional Fighters League (PFL), notorious for turning the combat sports world on its head, unleashed another saga of mayhem at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut. This wild night was not just a collection of fights; it was a parade of knockouts and showdowns across the Heavyweight and Women’s Flyweight divisions, where eight brawlers snatched their playoff golden tickets.

In the co-main event, Dakota Ditcheva and Chelsea Hackett squared up in a Women’s Flyweight face-off. Ditcheva steamrolled Hackett with a first-round TKO, staying undefeated with a pristine 12-0 record, and bagged her tenth career knockout—a merciless clincher for the playoff’s top seed.

Valentin Moldavsky and Linton Vassell went toe-to-toe in a trilogy that was more hyped than a blockbuster premiere. Vassell eked out a split decision win after three bone-crunching rounds, moving him to a 2-1 lead in their ongoing saga, while Moldavsky still stumbled into the playoffs.

Then there was Denis Golstov, who practically bulldozed Thiago Santos with a first-round TKO in their Heavyweight clash, stamping his ticket to his fifth PFL postseason in a style that could only be described as brutally efficient.

Liz Carmouche and Kana Watanabe served up a rematch that teetered on the brink of boredom until Carmouche snapped an armbar out of nowhere, snagging a playoff spot with just eight ticks left on the clock—talk about a last-minute win.

“The PFL cage door swung open tonight and didn’t just let the fighters in—it let the wild out,” boasted PFL CEO Peter Murray. He praised the league’s cutthroat format which guarantees not just action, but an adrenaline-infused synergy with its audience.

Ray Sefo, PFL’s fight maestro, chimed in, “Our gladiators didn’t just fight tonight; they clawed their way to the playoffs. Brace yourselves, Salt Lake City; next week is do or die!”

Other highlights included Taila Santos narrowly defeating Jena Bishop by split decision in a slobberknocker that secured Santos a spot in her inaugural playoff run. Meanwhile, Oleg Popov kept his streak alive, bulldozing his way through Davion Franklin to mark his 16th consecutive win.

Marcelo Golm and Tyrell Fortune didn’t just fight; they waged war for three rounds, with Fortune walking away with a unanimous nod and three more points in his pocket. Elsewhere, Ilara Joanne outpunched Shanna Young to nab a unanimous decision win.

Tim Johnson made quick work of Danilo Marques, smashing his way to a first-round TKO. Taking the fight on short notice, Johnson turned his quick win into a playoff berth and a story to tell. Juliana Velasquez put her striking prowess on full display, stopping Lisa Mauldin with a second-round TKO, adding a dramatic flourish to her resume.

Kicking things off, Sumiko Inaba edged out Saray Orozco by split decision in a debut that was as nerve-wracking as it was victorious.

The madness rolls on to Salt Lake City on Friday, June 21, for the next chapter of PFL 2024, with Light Heavyweight and Lightweight warriors ready to stream their havoc across ESPN in the U.S. and DAZN in Canada and Europe, captivating an audience that spans across 150 countries. Get ready for more unscripted violence and heart-stopping moments


PFL Uncasville Main Card Results:
Linton Vassell (24-9) def. Valentin Moldavsky (13-3, 1NC) by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Dakota Ditcheva (11-0) def. Chelsea Hackett (4-2-1) by 1st round TKO (3:22)
Denis Goltsov (34-8) def. Thiago Santos (22-13, 1NC) by 1st round TKO (2:22)
Liz Carmouche (22-7) def. Kana Wantanabe (13-3-1) by 3rd round submission (4:52)

Early Card Results:
Taila Santos (21-3) def. Jena Bishop (7-1) by split decision (29-28, 29-28, 28-29)
Oleg Popov (18-1) def. Davion Franklin (6-3) by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-25)
Tyrell Fortune (14-2) def. Marcelo Golm (10-6) by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)
Ilara Joanne (12-9) def. Shanna Young (9-7) by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Tim Johnson (18-9) def. Danilo Marques (15-6)  by 1st round TKO (3:14)
Juliana Velasquez (13-3) def. Lisa Mauldin (6-5) by 2nd round TKO (1:30)
Sumiko Inaba (7-1) def. Saray Orozco (8-6) by split decision (29-28, 29-28, 28-29)