BELLATOR PARIS: MOUSASI VS. EDWARDS UPDATE

 BELLATOR MMA has today added two pulse raising match-ups to the promotion’s exciting return to France for BELLATOR PARIS: Mousasi vs. Edwards, taking place at the Accor Arena, on Friday, May 12, 2023 and will be televised live in America on SHOWTIME at 10 p.m. CEST/4 p.m. ET.

No. 4-ranked welterweight Douglas “The Phenom” Lima (32-11) steps up a division for what is set to be a closely fought clash with Costello “The Spaniard” Van Steenis (14-2) in the middleweight division. Meanwhile in the light heavyweight division, fierce punching power will be on display as Jose “Gugu” Augusto (7-4-0 1 NC) clashes with Simon “Hemle” Biyong (9-2) in the French capital.

BELLATOR MMA’s electrifying return to France for the second time in as many years boasts a compelling title eliminator main event in the middleweight division, with MMA legend Gegard Mousasi (49-8-2) taking on the surging Fabian Edwards (11-3). Meanwhile Sidney Outlaw (16-5) will be looking to upset the Parisian crowd as he faces Mansour Barnaoui (20-4) in an opening round match-up in the million-dollar BELLATOR Lightweight World Grand Prix.

Tickets for BELLATOR PARIS: Mousasi vs. Edwards are already on sale and can be purchased at accorarena.com and bellator.fr.

Former three-time BELLATOR Welterweight World Champion Douglas Lima will look to reestablish his dominance as he makes the move up to the 185-pound division. The Brazilian MMA veteran boasts an impressive record of 32-11, including several notable victories not least a stunning knockout victory over Michael Page in 2019. Lima will be hoping to rediscover that impressive form as he steps up a weight to meet Van Steenis in Paris.

Dutchman Costello Van Steenis will be looking to climb into the BELLATOR middleweight rankings and build on an impressive run of form which has seen him win in five of his six fights for the promotion. “The Spaniard” heads to the Accor Arena on the back of an impressive submission stoppage victory over Kamil Oniszczuk at BELLATOR 291 in Milan in October last year. The 30-year-old, who trains under the watchful eye of Mousasi, raised eyebrows when he defeated Mousasi’s opponent Fabian Edwards at BELLATOR Milan in September 2020. He’ll be looking to land another statement victory when he faces Lima on May 12.

Jose Augusto brings an all-action style into the cage and has contributed to memorable, action-packed fights each time he has competed, nearly defeating both Anthony “Rumble” Johnson and Alex Polizzi – both on short notice. “Gugu” will be searching for the winning formula to build on his seven career victories as he takes on Biyong.

Cameroon-born Simon Biyong heads to France riding a two-fight win streak and will be full of confidence after silencing the home crowd in London with a unanimous decision victory over rising star Luke Trainer at BELLATOR 281, before following up with a stoppage victory over Dragos Zubco last October. A victory in Paris could see “Hemle” stake a claim to move into the light heavyweight rankings and he’ll be full of confidence as he steps out in front of the raucous Parisian crowd.

 

Fans can see the updated card for BELLATOR PARIS: Mousasi vs. Edwards below:

 # # #

BELLATOR PARIS: MOUSASI VS. EDWARDS MAIN CARD:

SHOWTIME

Friday, May 12 — 10 p.m. CEST/9 p.m. BST/4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT

Middleweight Main Event: #1-Gegard Mousasi (49-8-2) vs. #2-Fabian Edwards (11-2)

Lightweight World Grand Prix Co-Main Event: #5-Sidney Outlaw (16-5) vs. Mansour Barnaoui (20-4)

Middleweight BoutDouglas Lima (32-11) vs. Costello Van Steens (14-2)

Lightweight BoutThibault Gouti (16-6) vs. Kane Mousah (14-4)

BELLATOR PARIS: MOUSASI VS. EDWARDS PRELIMINARY CARD:

BELLATOR MMA YouTube channel | SHOWTIME Sports YouTube channel | BBC iPlayer (U.K.) | Pluto TV

6 p.m. CEST/5 p.m. BST/12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT

Lightweight BoutSaul Rogers (15-5) vs. Davy Gallon (21-8-2)

Light Heavyweight BoutJose Augusto (7-4-0 1 NC) vs. Simon Biyong (9-2)


Leave a Comment